Happiness, 8 Bits At A Time

Recently, I discovered an instant mood changer, a magic bullet of happiness.  What is it you ask? The 8-bit versions of songs. They are amazing.

I discovered the existence of 8-bit songs by accident while looking for a new ringtone for my phone. Having been on a major Song of Ice and Fire kick and absolutely loving the Game of Thrones theme song, what better choice could I make? So I searched on my ringtone app for Game of Thrones and came across one called “GoT 8-bit.” Listening to it made me insanely happy. In fact, every Game of Thrones aficionado that has heard it played loves it.

 

Here is a full version of my ringtone. Amazing. I particularly like the title “Videogame of Thrones”.

As I thought more about why it has that effect on me, I came to the conclusion that it combines two things I love. The music of old-school video games and Game of Thrones. It’s bridge from my past to my present. I’m an extremely nostalgic person. Memories are very special to me. Hearing 8-bit music takes me back to my childhood. Back to when I was four years old, in my grandpa’s basement, playing on his NES. Things were simple. I was universally happy. When I hear songs from those games I tap into that simplistic happiness again.

Songs like the main theme from The Legend of Zelda.

Or the Super Mario Brothers Theme, obviously.

But it doesn’t stop there. Today, I found out that Spotify and Youtube have a cornucopia of 8-bit music. Some of them are 8-bit versions of pop songs from the 80s, 90s and today. But the ones that really made me happy were 8-bit versions cartoon and movie theme songs. The Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles and Indiana Jones themes were my personal favorites but they had some other great ones too.The list goes on. All of them are really cool. I suggest you check them out.

3 thoughts on “Happiness, 8 Bits At A Time

Leave a comment